Text summary and analysis

This is a great follow-on to my last post about learning words with corpora. I have to try ozdic.com for collocations with my students

A Hive of Activities

Copyright © 2014 Emma Gore-Lloyd

Copyright © 2014 Emma Gore-Lloyd

This is a great way to get Proficiency students reading, finding useful vocabulary in the text and sharing it with each other. I got it from the inspiring Elspeth Pollock who gave a talk on teaching CPE students in Seville in February.  She reminded us that proficiency students are (at least in Spain) pretty special students and this should be reflected in the classes. I have used her General Text Analysis handout and also adapted it to make my own for my class and I attach both here with her permission.

After doing a class activity or exam practice on a certain topic, I asked my students to go home and find an article in English on the same sort of general topic – something which interests them – and to follow the handout. They have to summarise it (practice for Part 1 of the Writing paper)…

View original post 83 more words

Leave a Reply

